Transport processes and spatio-temporal dynamics of particles and fecal bacteria in karst aquifers (IMPART).

Project description:

The main goal of the IMPART project is to gain in-depth insights into the transport processes that determine the spatial and temporal dynamics of particles, organic carbon, and fecal bacteria in karst systems through high-resolution monitoring and multi-tracer experiments. The test site is the Blautopf on the Swabian Alb as well as the connected blue cave system, where two accessible water caves allow direct observation of flow, water quality and transport processes within the active tube network.

Karst aquifers contribute significantly to the water supply in many regions, cities and countries. They form by chemical solution in carbonate rocks and consist of a network of tubes and caverns embedded in the fractured rock matrix. Contaminants, including fecal and pathogenic bacteria, can be transported rapidly over long distances within the network of tubes and can reach wells or springs largely unmitigated.

As a result, generally good water quality at karst springs is often interrupted by brief but severe contamination events. Suspended mineral particles and organic carbon play critical roles in the mobilization and transport of fecal bacteria and other contaminants. However, the exact processes and their spatial and temporal variability are far from fully understood.

The results of the IMPART project will provide a better understanding of the transport processes and microbial water quality dynamics of karst aquifers, as a basis for improved management of these valuable but vulnerable resources.

In conjunction with the IMPART project, we are working on another project to use statistical analysis and time series models to gain a deeper understanding of how water quantity has fluctuated and will fluctuate at this karst source.


Blautopf near Blaubeuren

AGW - Hydrogeologie

Transportprozesse und räumlich-zeitliche Dynamik von Partikeln und Fäkalbakterien in Karstgrundwasserleitern (IMPART)

Projektbeschreibung:

Das Hauptziel des IMPART-Projekts besteht darin, durch hochauflösendes Monitoring und Multi-Tracer-Versuche, vertiefte Einblicke in die Transportprozesse zu gewinnen, welche die räumliche und zeitliche Dynamik von Partikeln, organischem Kohlenstoff und Fäkalbakterien in Karstsystemen bestimmen. Das Testgebiet ist der Blautopf auf der Schwäbischen Alb sowie das angeschlossene Blauhöhlensystem, in dem zwei zugängliche Wasserhöhlen die direkte Beobachtung von Strömung, Wasserqualität und Transportvorgängen innerhalb des aktiven Röhrennetzes ermöglichen.

Karstgrundwasserleiter (Karstaquifere) tragen in vielen Regionen, Städten und Ländern wesentlich zur Wasserversorgung bei. Sie bilden sich durch chemische Lösung in Karbonatgesteinen und bestehen aus einem Netzwerk von Röhren und Höhlen, die in die geklüftete Gesteinsmatrix eingebettet sind. Verunreinigungen, einschließlich fäkaler und pathogener Bakterien, können innerhalb des Röhrennetzes schnell über große Entfernungen transportiert werden und können Brunnen oder Quellen weitgehend ungemindert erreichen.

Daher wird die generell gute Wasserqualität an Karstquellen oft durch kurze, aber starke Kontaminationsereignisse unterbrochen. Suspendierte Mineralpartikel und organischer Kohlenstoff spielen entscheidende Rollen bei der Mobilisierung und dem Transport von Fäkalbakterien und anderen Verunreinigungen. Die genauen Prozesse und ihre räumliche und zeitliche Variabilität sind jedoch noch lange nicht vollständig verstanden.

Die Ergebnisse des IMPART-Projekts werden ein besseres Verständnis der Transportprozesse und der mikrobiellen Wasserqualitätsdynamik von Karstaquiferen ermöglichen, als Grundlage für ein verbessertes Management dieser wertvollen, aber verletzlichen Ressourcen.


Blautopf bei Blaubeuren