Flow cytometry for microbial water quality evaluation - FLOMI

Project description:

The main goal of our FLOMI project is to achieve a better understanding of the transport processes governing the spatial and temporal dynamics of fecal bacteria in karst aquifer systems, as a basis for a better management and protection of these valuable but vulnerable freshwater resources.

A flow cytometric approach to investigate microbiological indicators is emerging and very promising. This technique allows fast analyses of the total and intact cell count, depending on the applied staining protocol. The staining with SYBR Green allows to detect viable and dead cells which yield the total cell count (TCC). If this staining protocol is combined with the use of propidium iodide, it is possible to further distinguish between viable and dead cells. Furthermore, it is possible to distinguish between microorganisms with a low (predominant in groundwater) and a high nucleic acid content (predominant in surface water) (Figure 1). Recent studies showed that this technique is perfectly suited for karst systems which suffer from high bacteria concentrations during contamination events such as rainfall which require flexible sampling strategies.

The recently developed Flow Cytometry Automation Add-on overcomes the obstacle of manual sampling and delivers information on the microbial water quality within 15 minutes on-site, i.e. at the experimental field site. This approach will yield unique, high-quality data sets which can be used as benchmarks and means to refine water quality predictions.


Figure 1: Sampling location Sägebach spring and premliminary results for the total cell count and low and high nucleic acid contents.

Durchflusszytometrie zur Bestimmung der mikrobiellen Wasserqualität - FLOMI

Projektbeschreibung:

Das Hauptziel des FLOMI Projekts ist es, ein besseres Verständnis der Transportprozesse von Fäkalbakterien in Karstsystemen zu erreichen. Karstquellen sind wichtige, aber gegenüber dem Eintrag von Schadstoffen oder Mikroorganismen vulnerable Trinkwasserressourcen.

Durchflusszytometrische Verfahren zur Bestimmung der Dynamik mikrobieller Beeinträchtigungen im Quellwasser sind sehr vielversprechend. Die Verfahren ermöglichen es, rasche Analysen, beispielsweise der Gesamtzellzahl, durchzuführen. Wenn Marker (z.B. SYBR Green) hinzugefügt werden, können Zellen von anderen Partikeln unterschieden werden. Mit der Verwendung von Propidium Iodid als Marker können lebensfähige und abgestorbene Zellen identifiziert werden, welche die Gesamtzellzahl ergeben. Es ist auch möglich, Mikroorganismen mit einem niedrigen (LNA) und hohen Nukleinsäureanteil (HNA) zu unterscheiden, die hauptsächlich in Grundwasser (LNA) bzw. Oberflächenwasser (HNA) vorkommen (siehe Abbildung 1).

Mit einer Automatisierungseinheit können Proben in Echtzeit am Durchflusszytometer gemessen werden, die Analysen der mikrobiellen Wasserqualität liegen innerhalb von 15 Minuten vor. Dies erlaubt es, direkt vor Ort den Beprobungszyklus bei Feldversuchen anzupassen oder eine entsprechende Wasseraufbereitung auf die Wasserqualität abzustimmen.


Abbildung 1: Sägebachquelle und erste Ergebnisse der Gesamtzellzahl und der Anzahl der Zellen mit niedrigen und hohen Nukleinsäureanteilen.