Department of Hydrogeology

In teaching, we are mainly involved in the study course Applied Geosciences.

In the Bachelor's programme this includes the course Fundamentals of Hydrogeology (4 SWS) with an introduction to the entire thematic breadth of hydrogeology, which forms the basis for the more in-depth courses in the Master's programme. The bachelor programme is complemented by an internship of several days in the course Geological field exercises, in which students are introduced to basic hydrogeological field methods, as well as alternating excursions.

In the Master's course we offer our own profile together with the Department of Engineering Geology. Here, the basics are further deepened in the courses Applied and Regional Hydrogeology as well as Hydraulic Methods. Thematically, the profile is supplemented by modules in Karst and Isotopes, Groundwater Modelling and Terrain and Laboratory Methods.

In both the Bachelor and Master programmes we supervise numerous student research projects and final theses, mostly embedded in current research projects. In addition, we offer hydrogeological courses and theses for the study courses Geoecology, Water Science & Engineering and Geophysics.

Abteilung Hydrogeologie

In der Lehre sind wir hauptsächlich am Studiengang Angewandte Geowisschenschaften beteiligt.

Im Bachelor-Studium umfasst dies die Lehrveranstaltung Grundlagen der Hydrogeologie (4 SWS) mit einer Einführung in die gesamte thematische Breite der Hydrogeologie, welche die Basis für die vertiefenden Lehrveranstaltungen im Master bildet. Ergänzt wird das Bachelor-Programm von einem mehrtägigen Praktikum im Rahmen der Veranstaltung Geologische Geländeübungen, in dem die Studierenden in grundlegende hydrogeologische Geländemethoden eingeführt werden, sowie wechselnde Exkursionen.

Im Masterstudiengang bieten wir zusammen mit der Abteilung Ingenieurgeologie ein eigenes Profil an. Hier werden im Rahmen der Veranstaltungen Angewandte und Regionale Hydrogeologie sowie Hydraulische Methoden die Grundlagen weiter vertieft. Thematisch wird das Profil von Modulen in Karst und Isotopen, Grundwassermodellierung und Gelände- und Labormethoden ergänzt.

Sowohl im Bachelor als auch im Master betreuen wir zahlreichen Studien- und Abschlussarbeiten, meist eingebettet in aktuelle Forschungsprojekte. Darüber hinaus bieten wir hydrogeologische Lehrveranstaltungen und Abschlussarbeiten für die Studiengänge Geoökologie, Water Science & Engineering sowie Geophysik an.