As a result of climate change, Germany is threatened by falling groundwater levels

KIT and BGR Develop Forecast Models on the Future Development of Groundwater Levels on the Basis of Artificial Intelligence

Climate change has a direct impact on groundwater resources. In Germany, too, there is a threat of declining groundwater levels in the coming decades. This is the result of a study by the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) and the Federal Institute for Geosciences and Natural Resources (BGR), which has now been published in the scientific journal Nature Communications.(DOI: 10.1038/s41467-022-28770-2)

The experts from BGR and KIT had used artificial intelligence in various forecast models to investigate how climate change will affect groundwater resources in Germany in the 21st century. For this purpose, they used machine learning methods (deep learning) to evaluate the development of groundwater levels for various locations on the basis of existing groundwater data from all over Germany using different climate scenarios taken from the IPCC's Fifth Assessment Report. These ranged from an assumed warming of the global mean temperature by the year 2100 of less than two degrees Celsius, as defined as a target by the Paris Climate Agreement, to a medium forecast model (plus 2.6 degrees) to the so-called business as usual scenario, which assumes a warming of up to five degrees compared to the pre-industrial state without appropriate climate protection measures. "Only direct climatic influences and changes were included in the scientific study, while we did not include anthropogenic factors such as groundwater withdrawals," emphasizes Andreas Wunsch from KIT's Institute for Applied Geosciences (AGW) and lead author of the study.

Links: Darstellung der mittleren Änderungen des Grundwasserspiegels, Rechts: „Heatmaps“  Graphic: KIT/BGR

Left: Plot of mean groundwater level changes (in percent) in 2100 compared to 2014 for all studied sites and.
Climate projections in the business-as-usual scenario.
Right: "Heatmaps" of modeled groundwater levels at an example site. (Graphic: KIT/BGR)

Projections show: Falling groundwater levels independent of scenario.

According to the experts, all three climate scenarios examined lead to more or less strong developments with drought effects, declining groundwater levels, and a change in water availability. While the two more optimistic scenarios show less pronounced and numerical trends, the experts from KIT and BGR noted a trend toward significantly decreasing groundwater levels for most sites in the case of the strongest of the three warming scenarios. "Especially for the near future, the results of this forecast are very relevant, as this scenario comes closest to the current situation," emphasizes Dr. Tanja Liesch from AGW.

"The future negative effects are particularly visible in northern and eastern Germany, where there are already corresponding developments today. Here, longer periods of low groundwater levels are imminent, especially toward the end of the century," emphasizes Dr. Stefan Broda of the BGR. This situation does not occur to this extent in the two weaker warming scenarios. For the experts from KIT and BGR, this is an indicator that a reduction in greenhouse gas emissions can have a positive effect on future groundwater levels.

The published results were elaborated in the BGR project MENTOR, which aims at developing a nationwide groundwater level prediction based on machine learning.


Original publication
Andreas Wunsch, Tanja Liesch & Stefan Broda: Deep learning shows declining groundwater levels in Germany until 2100 due to climate change. Nature Communications, 2022. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-022-28770-2. https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-022-28770-2


Details on the KIT Climate and Environment Center: https://www.klima-umwelt.kit.edu/

As "The Research University in the Helmholtz Association", KIT creates and communicates knowledge for society and the environment. Its goal is to make significant contributions to global challenges in the fields of energy, mobility, and information. To this end, about 9,800 employees cooperate on a broad disciplinary basis in natural sciences, engineering, economics, and humanities and social sciences. KIT prepares its 22,300 students for responsible tasks in society, industry, and science through research-oriented university studies. KIT's innovative activities bridge the gap between knowledge and application for the benefit of society, economic prosperity, and the preservation of our natural resources. KIT is one of the German universities of excellence.

le-swi, 09.03.2022

Infolge des Klimawandels drohen in Deutschland sinkende Grundwasserspiegel

KIT und BGR entwickeln auf Basis Künstlicher Intelligenz Prognosemodelle über die zukünftige Entwicklung des Grundwasserspiegels
 

Der Klimawandel hat unmittelbare Auswirkungen auf die Grundwasserressourcen. Auch in Deutschland drohen in den nächsten Jahrzehnten abnehmende Grundwasserspiegel. Dies ist das Ergebnis einer Studie des Karlsruher Instituts für Technologie (KIT) und der Bundesanstalt für Geowissenschaften und Rohstoffe (BGR), die jetzt in der wissenschaftlichen Fachzeitschrift Nature Communications veröffentlicht wurde. (DOI: 10.1038/s41467-022-28770-2)

Die Fachleute von BGR und KIT hatten mithilfe Künstlicher Intelligenz in verschiedenen Prognosemodellen untersucht, wie sich der Klimawandel im 21. Jahrhundert auf die Grundwasserressourcen in Deutschland auswirken wird. Dafür nutzten sie Verfahren des Maschinellen Lernens (Deep Learning), um auf Grundlage vorhandener Grundwasserdaten aus ganz Deutschland für verschiedene Standorte die Entwicklung des Grundwasserspiegels anhand unterschiedlicher Klimaszenarien, die aus dem fünften Sachstandsbericht des IPCC stammen, zu bewerten. Diese reichten von einer angenommenen Erwärmung der globalen Mitteltemperatur bis zum Jahr 2100 von unter zwei Grad Celsius, wie sie das Pariser Klimaabkommen als Zielmarke definiert, über ein mittleres Prognosemodell (plus 2,6 Grad) bis zum sogenannten Business as usual-Szenario, das ohne entsprechende Klimaschutzmaßnahmen von einer Erwärmung um bis zu fünf Grad im Vergleich zum vorindustriellen Zustand ausgeht. „In die wissenschaftliche Untersuchung flossen ausschließlich direkte klimatische Einflüsse und Veränderungen ein, während wir anthropogene Faktoren wie zum Beispiel Grundwasserentnahmen nicht miteinbezogen haben“, hebt Andreas Wunsch vom Institut für Angewandte Geowissenschaften (AGW) des KIT und Erstautor der Studie hervor.

Links: Darstellung der mittleren Änderungen des Grundwasserspiegels, Rechts: „Heatmaps“  Grafik: KIT/BGR
Links: Darstellung der mittleren Änderungen des Grundwasserspiegels (in Prozent) im Jahr 2100 im Vergleich zu 2014 für alle untersuchten Standorte und
Klimaprojektionen im Businessasusual-Szenario.
Rechts: „Heatmaps“ der modellierten Grundwasserspiegel an einem Beispielstandort. (Grafik: KIT/BGR)

Prognosen zeigen: Sinkende Grundwasserstände unabhängig vom Szenario
 
Alle drei untersuchten Klimaszenarien führen laut der Expertinnen und Experten zu mehr oder weniger starken Entwicklungen mit Dürreeffekten, sinkenden Grundwasserspiegeln und einer veränderten Wasserverfügbarkeit. Während die beiden optimistischeren Szenarien geringer ausgeprägte und zahlenmäßig weniger deutliche Tendenzen aufweisen, stellten die Fachleute von KIT und BGR im Fall des stärksten der drei Erwärmungsszenarien für die meisten Standorte einen Trend zu signifikant abnehmenden Grundwasserspiegeln fest. „Vor allem für die nahe Zukunft sind die Ergebnisse dieser Prognosesehr relevant, da dieses Szenario der heutigen Situation am nächsten kommt“, betont Dr. Tanja Liesch vom AGW.

„Besonders sichtbar sind die zukünftigen negativen Auswirkungen in Nord- und Ostdeutschland, wo es bereits heute entsprechende Entwicklungen gibt. Hier drohen vor allem gegen Ende des Jahrhunderts längere Perioden mit niedrigen Grundwasserständen“, unterstreicht Dr. Stefan Broda von der BGR. Diese Situation kommt in den beiden schwächeren Erwärmungsszenarien nicht in diesem Ausmaß vor. Für die Fachleute von KIT und BGR ist dies ein Indikator dafür, dass eine Minderung der Treibhausgasemissionen einen positiven Effekt auf die künftigen Grundwasserstände haben kann.

Die veröffentlichten Ergebnisse wurden im BGR-Vorhaben MENTOR erarbeitet, welches die Entwicklung einer auf dem Maschinellen Lernen basierenden, bundesweiten Grundwasserstandvorhersage zum Ziel hat.


Originalpublikation
Andreas Wunsch, Tanja Liesch & Stefan Broda: Deep learning shows declining groundwater levels in Germany until 2100 due to climate change. Nature Communications, 2022. DOI: 10.1038/s41467-022-28770-2. https://www.nature.com/articles/s41467-022-28770-2


Details zum KIT-Zentrum Klima und Umwelt: https://www.klima-umwelt.kit.edu/

Als „Die Forschungsuniversität in der Helmholtz-Gemeinschaft“ schafft und vermittelt das KIT Wissen für Gesellschaft und Umwelt. Ziel ist es, zu den globalen Herausforderungen maßgebliche Beiträge in den Feldern Energie, Mobilität und Information zu leisten. Dazu arbeiten rund 9 800 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter auf einer breiten disziplinären Basis in Natur-, Ingenieur-, Wirtschafts- sowie Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften zusammen. Seine 22 300 Studierenden bereitet das KIT durch ein forschungsorientiertes universitäres Studium auf verantwortungsvolle Aufgaben in Gesellschaft, Wirtschaft und Wissenschaft vor. Die Innovationstätigkeit am KIT schlägt die Brücke zwischen Erkenntnis und Anwendung zum gesellschaftlichen Nutzen, wirtschaftlichen Wohlstand und Erhalt unserer natürlichen Lebensgrundlagen. Das KIT ist eine der deutschen Exzellenzuniversitäten.

le-swi, 09.03.2022